Three Major Destiny 2 Expansions Are Free Until The Final Shape

By Zuhaad Ali
Image: Bungie

For a limited time, Bungie is offering all players the chance to enjoy three major Destiny 2 expansions for free, making it the perfect time to embark on your journey as a Guardian.

Destiny 2 players who are either returning after a break or starting their journey as a Guardian can rejoice as Bungie has announced some exciting news.

Related: Destiny 2 Prismatic Subclass Detailed: Supers, Grenades, Melee, Aspects, and More

Update, May 9, 11:48 am PT: Bungie has now announced that the story campaigns for Shadowkeep, Beyond Light will remain free after the launch of The Final Shape. Additionally, the Stasis subclass will also remain free to all players post-Final Shape.

“The campaigns for Shadowkeep and Beyond Light along with the Stasis subclass will remain available to all players at no additional cost,” stated Bungie in This Week in Destiny article.

There will also be three new expansion bundles available for older expansions.

  • Shadowkeep Pack:
    • 13 Exotic weapons  
    • 3 Exotic armor pieces 
    • The Scarlet Keep Nightfall 
    • The Pit of Heresy dungeon 
    • The Garden of Salvation raid 
  • Beyond Light Pack:
    • 12 Exotic weapons  
    • 6 Exotic armor pieces 
    • The Glassway and Proving Grounds Nightfalls  
    • The Deep Stone Crypt raid
  • Destiny 2: Legacy Collection 2024:
    • Destiny 2: Lightfall  
    • Destiny 2: The Witch Queen  
    • Destiny 2: Bungie 30th Anniversary Pack 
    • Destiny 2: Beyond Light Pack 
    • Destiny 2: Shadowkeep Pack 
    • Destiny 2: Forsaken Pack 

Original story: Players can now access three expansions for free until the release of The Final Shape. These three expansions include Shadowkeep, Beyond Light, and The Witch Queen, released in 2019, 2020, and 2022 respectively. These three expansions will be free from Tuesday, May 7, 2024, until Monday, June 3, 2024.

“Today through June 3, access to Destiny 2 expansions Shadowkeep, Beyond Light, and The Witch Queen, are available to all players,” Bungie announced in a press release.

Three Major Destiny 2 Expansions Are Free Until The Final Shape Statis subclass
Image: Bungie

This is a great opportunity for players to experience all the amazing content that Destiny 2 has to offer without any additional cost. To give an overview of everything that fans can expect from these expansions; the expansions include three engaging story campaigns, the new Stasis subclass introduced in Beyond Light, a wide range of exotic and legendary weapons, armor, cosmetics, and other exciting features.

Experience Four Destiny 2 Year 6 Seasons For Free

In addition to the three expansions, Destiny 2 players will also get to play four seasons released during the year of Lightfall (Year 6) completely for free. These four seasons include Season of Defiance, Season of the Deep, Season of the Witch, and Season of the Wish.

The best part is that any items you unlock during the free trial will remain yours even after the trial period ends. “All Guardians who play through these expansions and Seasons will be able to keep their earned weapons and gear,” stated Bungie.

Related: Destiny 2: 20 Best Apps And Tools

“In addition to the expansions, all Seasonal content from Destiny Year 6 is available to all players through June 3, which includes: Season of Defiance, Season of the Deep, Season of the Witch, and Season of the Wish.”

And if you’re wondering why Lightfall wasn’t part of this list, it’s because the expansion is available for free as part of May 2024 titles for PlayStation Plus. This means that if you’re a PlayStation Plus member, you’ll have access to the last four expansions (Shadowkeep, Beyond Light, The Witch Queen, and Lightfall) without any extra charges.

Apart from that, Bungie has also made some significant updates to lower the barrier of entry for new players in the Final Shape. We have compiled a list of 25 major updates and features set to release in early June which you can check out here.

Destiny 2 The Final Shape is set to launch on Tuesday, June 4, 2024, on PlayStation, Xbox, and PC.

Leave a comment