Bungie Teases Destiny 2 Codename Frontiers For 2025

By Zuhaad Ali
Image: Bungie

The Destiny developer has officially teased the next big content drop after The Final Shape, codenamed Frontiers.

Today, during the “The Journey Ahead” showcase video, Bungie officially revealed details about the three episodes that will be released in the year of The Final Shape. However, right before the video ended, the developer teased Destiny 2’s 2025 release, codenamed Frontiers.

Related: Destiny 2 Salvation’s Edge Becomes Longest Day 1 Raid In History, Beating Last Wish’s 19-Hour Record

While Bungie remained tight-lipped about specific details, the brief mention of Frontiers sparked widespread speculation. It remains unclear whether Frontiers will be an expansion for Destiny 2 or an entirely new release, but the mere hint of this project has already generated significant excitement and curiosity among players.

Bungie Teases Destiny 2 Codename Frontiers For 2025
Image: Bungie

In addition to the 2025 content teaser, Bungie has also revealed the first three episodes of the year, Echoes, Revenant, and Heresy. Here’s how Bungie described each of these three new episodes:

  • Echoes: “The first echo that we encountered landed on Nessus. What they find there is that this echo has transformed the planet. Awoken it into something it’s really not supposed to be.”
    • Vex-themed
    • Nesuss destination
    • Breach Executable activity
  • Revenant: “Revenant is going to be very Fallen-themed. The Fallen don’t have a home planet anymore. Riis has been gone for a long and they’ve been looking for a new home across the galaxy. Revenant has a more dark fantasy theme. It’s about slaying vampires with a touch of Splicer mixed in.”
    • Fallen-themed
    • Vampire-hunter fantasy
    • New system called Potion Crafting
    • Fikrul, The Fanatic
  • Heresy: “Heresy is about the Hive pantheon, dealing with some new interesting revelations that happened. We want the Hive Pantheon and shake up the snow globe. It means we want to take the existing relationships that we see inside of it and put them through such a stress test that they come out changed.”
    • Hive-themed
    • Dreadnaught returns
    • Two new armor sets: Eris Morn-themed, and Hive Ship Navigator armor set

Destiny’s epic 10-year Light and Darkness saga reached its dramatic conclusion last Saturday, marked by the completion of the world’s first Salvation’s Edge raid in The Final Shape.

Following the world’s first completion, Bungie released the game’s first-ever 12-player activity, Excision, where players faced and defeated The Witness in a battle reminiscent of the climactic showdown in Avengers: Endgame.

Destiny 2 The Final Shape is now available on PlayStation, Xbox, and PC.

Leave a comment